About SA

About SA - 10 Fast Facts

South Africa


About SASouth Africa, officially the Republic of South Africa (RSA), is a country located at the southern tip of Africa. It has 2,798 kilometres (1,739 mi) of coastline that stretches along the South Atlantic and Indian oceans.

  • Capitals: Pretoria, Cape Town, Bloemfontein
  • Dialling code: 27
  • Currency: South African rand
  • National anthem: National anthem of South Africa
  • Official languages: English Language, Afrikaans Language, etc.
  • Colleges and universities: University of South Africa, and more.

1. Provinces 

South Africa has nine provinces:

  • Western Cape
  • Eastern Cape
  • Northern Cape
  • Free State
  • KwaZulu-Natal
  • Gauteng
  • North West
  • Limpopo
  • Mpumalanga

 2. Languages 

South Africa has 11 official languages:

  • English
  • Afrikaans
  • Sepedi
  • Sesotho
  • Setswana
  • siSwati
  • Tshivenda
  • Xitsonga
  • isiNdebele
  • isiXhosa
  • isiZulu

3. Time difference

Standard time in South Africa is two hours ahead of Greenwich Mean-Time. No zone or seasonal variations apply in South Africa. 

4. Climate 

Large Cities






Cape Town















5. South Africa currency

The South African currency is the Rand, denoted by the symbol R (R1.00 = 100 cents). 

6. Foreign currency 

Foreign currency and traveller’s cheques (provided the currency is accepted in South Africa), may be converted into local currency. Local banks and a few other institutions listed below will convert foreign currency:

  • Travel agencies
  • Airlines
  • Bureaus de Change
  • American Express
  • Rennies
  • Thomas Cook

Please take note that a commission fee is charged for every transaction.

Visit the websites: http://www.xe.com or http://www.oanda.com

 7. Credit Cards 

In South Africa, most major credit cards are accepted. Examples are:

  • MasterCard
  • Visa Card
  • Diners Club
  • American Express.

8. International Driving licence 

For insurance purposes, it is advisable to obtain an international driver’s licence in the country in which the holder’s national licence was issued. An international driver’s licence is valid for one year. Information about the renewal of such a licence should be obtained in the country of origin before proceeding to South Africa. The holder’s national driver’s licence is valid for a period of six months from date of entry into South Africa, provided it has been issued in English and that it contains a photograph of the holder and his/her signature; and the holder’s nationality. 

9. Electricity 

City and town power systems operate at 220/250 volts, AC50Hz. Adapters for electrical appliances can be purchased at airports and major shopping centres. 

10. Weight and measurements 

The metric system is used in South Africa.

Chat now

Talk to us - live chat

CTI Logo